Cuba FAQ 2002



[Sun 26 May, 11:33]
PST (Gumly Gumly -17)
FAQ - (topics)

Hello, and welcome to CubaFAQ. This site is meant to be primarily a supplement to Lonely Planet's Thorn Tree on Cuba. Please note, this is a test run! Last year, I realized that LP needed a Frequently Asked Questions page, so I stepped up to the task. Unfortunately, after a few successful months, I left the country, and passed on webmaster powers to a new volunteer, and the FAQ was accidently deleted. But now I'm back, so where were we?

If you have any comments or suggestions, make them NOW, while I still have the motivation to do this! If you'd like to help, please let me know ASAP. Finally, I'm tempted to start including other people's personal memoires/travel experiences/hint, suggestiongs, etc. If you have something, send it to me (and if you want it up FAST, send it in HTML format). Email me at

General Questions Cuban Debates and Myths
Unique Scenerios US Politics, etc
Cuban Culture People to People Contact
Odds and Ends FAQ, page 2

A Few Disclaimers:

  • I'm doing this purely as a favor for all those interested in going to Cuba.
  • Nothing posted here is verified 100% Real, True or Factual, just some answers to common questions. No one is an expert and everyone's opinion as such.
  • I'm trying to limit the FAQ to "important"questions. Some of them change often and quickly (money, traveler's checks, US restrictions). I will attempt to update this site accordingly, but iIf you find information here that's obscenely outdate, oh well!
  • Common and trivial questions have been excluded, or questions that are too subjective (casa particulares and paladares) or those easily answered in a Cuba travel book.
  • For various reasons,most questions and replies are reproduced as is, with minimal editing. You have to learn the good from the bad.
  • If you can do a better job, Plese Do! I'll will include your link here.
  • Unfortunately I am yet willing to let you add more comments and contribute to this FAQ. If you think you have a good question that's not here, let me know. And although I hesitate to take additional responses, you may email me at for comments (word to Guzanos: keep it to yourself, I've heard it all before.

General Questions - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Budget Travel Suggestions NHtraveller Mon 29 Apr, 17:42
What are the basic costs? dunehermit Wed 8 May, 23:54
Visa: 30 days or 3 months? salsasi
Mon 13 May, 06:42
Money in Cuba Carlitosway Tue 7 May, 21.32
Bank Accounts ourman Wed 29 May, 11.09
Can you use AmEx in Cuba? jannyman Tue 7 May, 07.22
Do you really need hotel reservations? Jernouk2 Fri 24 May, 07.53
Cuba on the Cheap bell80 Fri 24 May, 15.03
Tips for long-term stay in Cuba luna chen Sun 19 Nov, 15:38
Communications - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Telephoning from Cuba to the US safrass Mon 20 May, 09:08
Mail within Cuba lamimi Wed 1 May, 09:36
Internet Access Anonymous Sun 26 May, 11:36
My summary of Internet Access Seattlecuba Tue 21 May, 23.47
Internet Banned? ciclista Mon 29 Apr, 21:31
Laptops cubanholliday Thurs 9 May, 17:55
Transportation - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Rental Cars Carlan Sat 11 May, 16:35
Going by Boat Ajdf Wed 1 May, 17:10
Ferries to Cuba iwondertwice Wed 1 Aug, 08:56
Hitchhiking Anonymous Tues 13 Nov, 21.28
Cuban Debates and Myths - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Politics on this branch austingirl Sun 19 May, 11:36
BEWARE OF CRIME WAVE!!! Anonymous Fri 1 Feb, 08:22
Would you believe this Miami Troll crap? Trollminator Fri 22 Feb, 14:57
"Tourism Apartheid in Cuba" Anonymous Wed 6 Feb, 11:19
What about elections in Cuba? klickers Mon 27 May, 23.20

US Politics and Action- CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
US Travel Ban RedStarLine Wed 27 Feb, 10:26
US/Canada Trouble over Cuba wild_bill Thurs 4 Apr, 10:08
Busted By Customs Anonymous Wed 1 Aug, 08:56
How to get Thru CUBAN Customs Marsillow Sat 7 Jul, 17:12
Getting to Cuba from US 2 fredajetta Wed 1 May, 09:56
What's the easiest and safest way there? eduarte Mon 6 May, 13:49
Bringing Back Souvenirs victorita Wed 29 May
Cuba from the US gwrdihw Thurs 23 May 07:36
Odds and Ends- CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Typical Tourist who visits Cuba AIR CANADA SUCKS Sat 2 Feb, 13:47
Two 'turistas' in Cuba yola Tue 11 Dec, 09:17
Recommendations? lala9 Wed 22 May
Going Solo jsouth Mon 20 May, 19.38
I wanna get married in Cuba... digame Wed 29 May, 11.21
Black Travelers Anonymous Mon 18 Jun, 19:04
Woman traveling alone karwa Wed 1 May, 15:56]
Working in Cuba? Travelastic Tues 28 May
Jews in Cuba? lal9 Thu 29 May, 16:49
People-to-People Contact - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Marriage to a Cuban Anonymous Sat 23 Feb, 22:50
Traveling with a Cubana dondecamillo Wed 8 May, 14:45
Meeting Local People JModillc Thu 25 Apr, 09:10
Is there no happy stories out there to be heard? Anonymous Sun 3 Feb, 14:34
Gays in Cuba? Anonymous Fri 24 Aug, 09:36
Cuban Culture - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Cigars falcon215 Thu 28 Feb, 19:11
Cigars 2 ME!!! Wed 30 Jan, 09:12
FAQ Page 2 - CubaFAQ Sun 26 May, 11:36
Remnants of the Original FAQ -slightly more outdated    


Hit Counter